Pig Week: Crispy Jerked Pigs Ears

As a child growing up, I remember my maternal grandmother making pig ears in her rural Virginia home. Still being too young to be squeamish about such things, I embraced them readily. They were boiled ‘until done’, and simply served on a plate with salt and pepper. It was only a few years later that I became sensitized to eating ‘gross food’, and it took a good number of years after that before I came back around to realizing there were no ‘gross foods’, only good ones!

This dish modernizes the ears in a way my grandmother would not have known, by bringing Caribbean jerk flavor to the party. The additional touch of deep frying yields a nice crunchy texture, that makes the ears a great snack. If you really want to try something different, which, I swear, tastes great, then give these a go.

Ingredients

  • 4 pigs ears
  • oil, for deep frying
  • 2 quarts water (for the cooking liquid)
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar (for the cooking liquid)
  • 1/4 cup coarse salt (for the cooking liquid)
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar (for the cooking liquid)
  • 2 hot peppers, halved (for the cooking liquid)
  • 1 cinnamon stick (for the cooking liquid)
  • 2 star anise (for the cooking liquid)
  • 1 tablespoon coriander seeds (for the cooking liquid)
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander (for the jerk seasoning)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (for the jerk seasoning)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar (for the jerk seasoning)
  • 1 teaspoon ground red pepper (for the jerk seasoning)
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper (for the jerk seasoning)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (for the jerk seasoning)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground fennel or anise seed (for the jerk seasoning)

Start by putting the ingredients for the cooking liquid, as well as the pigs ears, in a pot and bringing the liquid to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 2 1/4 hours. Make sure the ears are completely covered by the liquid. You also want to make sure the cartilage in the ears is plenty soft, but you do not want the skin falling off of them. When done, drain and allow to cool. When the ears are cool, slice them into 3/4 inch strips and set aside.

While the ears are cooking, assemble your jerk seasoning. Comibine all the ingredients for the seasoning in a small bowl and mix well.

Now you are ready to go. In oil heated to about 350 degrees, begin to deep fry the sliced pig ears. If you are not using a deep fryer with a lid, you will need somthing to cover the pot or pan you are using, to prevent splattering. Fry for about 10 minutes, or until the outer skin of the ears begins to ‘bubble up’ and get crispy.

When done, drain on paper towels and, while still hot, coat throughly with the jerk seasoning you made. Serve while still hot.


One response to “Pig Week: Crispy Jerked Pigs Ears

  • sippitysupsippitysup

    There’s a rather trendy restaurant in Los Angeles called Church & State that serves pig ears. Crispy fried. If you closed your eyes you’d think piggy onion rings. Naturally I went. I just had to eat pig ears. Still, I had a moment of revulsion as I brought it to my mouth. Similar to when I ate whale in Norway. But you know what I enjoyed my crispy pig ears appetizer so much that I can’t even remember what I had for an entree. And this is a damn good restaurant. So to forget the entree, means something. GREG

Leave a comment