Baked Kibbeh in Onions

Since my days in Tallahassee, eating at Mounir’s restaurant, I have loved the Lebanese dish of kibbeh. I have had it fried, baked in a dish, or even raw, but baked is my favorite way. In this preparation, I was trying to amp up the presentation and enhance the flavor by stuffing the kibbeh in whole onions. The result was just like I was looking for.

Ingredients

  • 4 large white onions, uniformly sized
  • 1 pound ground lamb
  • 2/3 cup prepared fine to medium bulgar wheat
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion (use what you scoop out of the white onions)
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 5 tablespoons fresh mint, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Olive oil
  • Chopped parsley (for garnish)

Prepare the bulgar wheat, either by soaking it water for several hours, or cooking it according to package instructions.

Next, prepare the onions. Chop off the top 1/4 of the onion and discard. Carefully shave off a little of the bottom of the onion so that it is flat, and will stand up in a pan. Remove the dry outer skin of the onion, but do not go too deeply. Using a melon baller, scoop out the interior of the onion (reserving 1/2 cup for the lamb). Try to leave 2 layers of the onion for the shell. Lightly oil the outside of the onions with olive oil.

Now make the kibbeh. In a mixing bowl, add the lamb, and all the remaining ingredients, and knead together, as you would a meatloaf. Make sure the mixing is complete, and the ingredients are well dispersed.

Using a spoon, stuff the onions with the kibbeh mixture, forcing it down with the spoon, so the onion is completely filled. Overfill the onion, so there is some kibbeh popping out of the top.

Oil a baking pan, and set the filled onions on it. Drizzle easy one with a little extra olive oil to keep the top of the kibbeh from drying out. Bake the onions for 1 hour in a 350 degree oven. When done, serve with chopped parsley, for garnish.


4 responses to “Baked Kibbeh in Onions

  • Steve

    This is “mad scientist” brilliant and looks like a tasty cool fan evening hearty dish. Great presentation. When eating it I assume that you cut the onion in half or quarters then consume versus using the onion as a bowl and going after it from the middle, right?

    I am going to share this one with Jenna and have her take a run at lamb…

  • Kent Mills

    You are right. It is pretty difficult to scoop out the kibbeh, so cutting the onion is the only real option. I try to leave it alone as long as possible before cutting.

  • Bridget

    Another winner, Kent. I absolutely love kibbeh and this looks like a fantastic way to prepare it. I’m going to make it very soon. Keep these blogs coming! BTW, is Mounir’s still in Tally? I don’t think so…where was it?

  • Kent Mills

    Bridget – Thanks sooooo much for the nice comments. I will be looking forward to you sending me some of your recipes to post – I know hat a great chef you are, and I would really like the contributions!

Leave a comment